Monday, August 6, 2012

2012 Ivan Hlinka Roster Revealed

This afternoon, Hockey Canada unveiled the players who will be traveling to the Czech Republic shortly to take part in this year's Ivan Hlinka (Under 18) Memorial Tournament.

Canada has won this event four years in a row, and 14 of the last 16 years. Pretty impressive if you ask me.

Here are the OHL members of the team (7 of them):

Darnell Nurse
Chris Bigras
Jordan Subban

Max Domi
Bo Horvat
Nick Ritchie
Ryan Kujawinski

That means the following OHL players were cut:

Spencer Martin
Aaron Ekblad
Nick Baptiste
Stephen Harper
Stephen Nosad
Brent Pedersen
Jason Dickinson
Hunter Garlent
Zach Nastasiuk
Brandon Robinson

Obviously the big surprise is Ekblad being cut, but he apparently was only so-so at the camp. I suppose since it was a close call, Hockey Canada decided to go with older players, who don't have the benefit of trying out again next summer.

You can find the full roster here

No comments: