Saturday, May 23, 2009

The OHL Dominates the CHL Awards Ceremony

OK, so dominate may be a strong word, but the OHL certainly did well for itself at the 2009 CHL Awards Banquet. Ontario Hockey League players took home the majority of the night's main awards, including Player of the Year, Top Draft Prospect of the Year, Goaltender of the Year, and Coach of the Year.

Brampton Battalion forward Cody Hodgson took home the CHL Player of the Year award. Past winners include John Tavares, Sidney Crosby, Eric Lindros, Joe Sakic, among many other quality names (to see that list, click here).

London Knights forwardJohn Tavares took home the CHL Top Draft Prospect award. The past CHL Player of the Year joins Steve Stamkos, Jason Spezza, Joe Thornton as players to have won this honour. To see a full list of past winners, click here.

Belleville Bulls star Mike Murphy took home the CHL Goaltender of the Year, after being nominated, but not winning last year. Murphy joins Carey Price, Cam Ward, and Felix Potvin on this trophy. For more names on this trophy, click here.

Finally, Windsor Spitfires Coach Bob Boughner took home the newly named Brian Kilrea Coach of the Year award for the second straight season. Boughner becomes the first ever back to back winner in the award's 20 year history. To see other previous winners (like Mr. Kilrea himself), click here.

Big congrats to those guys, they definitely deserved it.

To see a full list of all winners, check out the official press release from the OHL found here. Also thanks and credit to the OHL link above for the great picture of our CHL award winners.

No comments: